Ben Feringa wins the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Professor Ben Feringa, Chair of the Executive Board of ARC CBBC, has won the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, together with Jean-Pierre Sauvage and Sir J. Fraser Stoddart. “Bernard Feringa was the first person to develop a molecular motor; in 1999 he got a molecular rotor blade to spin continually in the same direction. Using molecular motors, he has rotated a glass cylinder that is 10,000 times bigger than the motor and also designed a nanocar.” Read more in the press release on the Nobel Prize website.