Executive Board

The Executive Board has the overall responsibility for ARC CBBC. The Executive Board is formed by representatives from the founding partners and a scientific observer on behalf of NWO.

Ben Feringa

Professor of Organic chemistry and molecular sciences
University of Groningen

Bert Weckhuysen

Professor of Inorganic chemistry and catalysis
Utrecht University

Hans Kuipers

Professor of Multi-scale modelling of multiphase flows
Eindhoven University of Technology

Marcel Schreuder Goedheijt

Director of Expert Capability Group

André van Linden

Director Coatings technology
AkzoNobel Decorative Paints

Adrie Huesman

Principal External technology - Collaboration advisor

Robert Terörde

Senior research manager - Catalysis research

Scientific Advisory Board

The main task of the Scientific Advisory Board is to provide the Executive Board of ARC CBBC with substantiated recommendations on the project proposals from a scientific point of view. Our Scientific Advisory Board consists of outstanding independent academic experts, each one a leader in their own field of research. Additionally, experience in collaboration with industry or past performance in the industry is a selection criterion.


Matthias Beller

Head of Department Applied Homogeneous Catalysis
Leibniz-Institut für Katalyse

Markus Antonietti

Director of Colloid chemistry
Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces

Ib Chorkendorff

Director The Villum Center for the science of sustainable fuels and chemicals
Technical University of Denmark

Christophe Copéret

Deputy Head of Laboratory of Inorganic Chemistry
ETH Zürich

Tanja Cuk

Associate Professor of Chemistry
University of Colorado

John Dennis

Professor of Chemical Reaction Engineering
University of Cambridge

Rodney O. Fox

Professor of Chemical Engineering
Iowa State University

Bettina Frohnapfel

Professor of Fluid Mechanics
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Matthew Gaunt

Professor of Chemistry
University of Cambridge

Joseph Keddie

Professor of Soft Matter Physics
University of Surrey

Guy Marin

Director of the Laboratory for Chemical Technology
Ghent University

Martin Möller

Scientific Director
DWI – Leibniz Institute for Interactive Materials

Ferdi Schüth

Vice President of the Max Planck Society
Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung

Timothy Swager

John D. MacArthur Professor
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board is charged with exercising supervision on ARC CBBC and the Executive Board, in particular on the execution of ARC CBBC’s mission. The Supervisory Board consists of high-level representatives of the ARC CBBC partners and the most important stakeholders NWO, the Top Sector Chemistry and Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy.

Prof. Anton Pijpers

President of the Executive Board
Utrecht University

Prof. Jasper Knoester

Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering
University of Groningen

Ir. Jan Mengelers

President of the Executive Board
Eindhoven University of Technology

Dr. Peter Nieuwenhuizen

Director of RD&I

Dr. Klaus Harth

Vice President of Process Catalysis Research

Dr. Dirk Smit

Vice President Exploration Technology & Chief Scientist Geophysics

Prof. Stan Gielen

Chairman of the Board
Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)

Drs. Michiel Sweers

Director of Innovation & Knowledge
Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy

Prof. Emmo Meijer

Chairman of the Board
Top Sector Chemistry