PhD position ‘Fundamentals of supported bimetallic catalysts preparation using in situ gas and liquid phase transmission electron microscopy’

Heterogeneous metal catalysts are of tremendous importance to chemical industry. Activity, selectivity and stability of catalysts during chemical reactions is largely determined by the size, location and composition of catalytically active metal nanoparticles typically supported on metal oxides such as silica, alumina or titania. Within the framework of ARC-CBBC consortium, this project aims to deepen the fundamental understanding of the preparation of supported bimetallic catalysts. Advanced transmission electron microscopy (TEM)
techniques will be used, amongst others in situ liquid and gas-phase TEM to study in real time the stages of catalyst preparation with nanometer scale resolution. The supported bimetallic catalysts will be studied with several advanced analytical tools available within the consortium. Hydrogenation catalysis is the envisaged application of the prepared materials.


We are looking for an enthusiastic, motivated and skilled student holding an MSc in a relevant area of Chemistry, Materials Science or Chemical Engineering. The candidate preferably has some experience with catalysis, catalyst synthesis and/or electron microscopy.

Conditions of employment

The candidate is offered a full-time position at Utrecht University for 4 years. The salary is supplemented with a holiday bonus of 8% and an end-of-year bonus of 8,3% per year. In addition we offer: a pension scheme, a partially paid parental leave, flexible employment
conditions. Conditions are based on the Collective Labour Agreement Dutch Universities. The research group will provide the candidate with necessary support on all aspects of the project.

More information is available on the vacancy website of Utrecht University.


Please contact:

Dr. Jovana Zečević ( or Prof. Dr. Krijn de Jong (

Deadline for application: 31st January 2019

Utrecht University, Faculty of Science

A better future for everyone. This ambition motivates our scientists in executing their leading
research and inspiring teaching. At Utrecht University, the various disciplines collaborate
intensively towards major societal themes. Our focus is on Dynamics of Youth, Institutions for
Open Societies, Life Sciences and Sustainability.

The Faculty of Science consists of six departments: Biology, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Information
and Computing Sciences, Physics and Astronomy, Chemistry and Mathematics. The Faculty is
home to 5600 students and nearly 1500 staff and is internationally renowned for the quality of its
research. The Faculty’s academic programs reflect developments in today’s society.

Inorganic Chemistry and Catalysis Group

In the Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science, physicists and chemists work closely together
on nanomaterials research. The group Inorganic Chemistry and Catalysis comprises more than
100 people, with research focus on nanostructured solid materials for applications in catalysis,
hydrogen storage, and sustainable production of fuels and chemicals.